To The New Teacher: Reema

Tomorrow is the big day. You have taught a classroom before, but this time it’s different. You aren’t a trainee. You are a teacher.

I don’t know if there’s going to be that cliche apple sitting on your desk – considering this generation probably doesn’t even know what apples are (kidding, kidding). I don’t know how noisy your students are going to be. I don’t know if your students would get quiet if they were asked to, but here’s what I know.

I know that you won’t ruin this generation as you once told me you fear you might. I know you will build this generation. Think of how you built yourself over the past years. Think of how you helped me and countless of our friends build ourselves up over the past four years. You encourage us. You listen and hear us out. You give smart advice. You believe in us, and I believe I speak for us all when I say we believe in you.

You’ve countlessly told me how you’d want the first day to go, and I could imagine it so clearly because the amount of effort and soul you put into things makes it real enough to be seen.

You’re not going to ruin this generation. I know it. You’re going to build them up. You’re going to be that teacher a student would want to keep in touch with and let them know how far they’ve come in life. It’s going to be tough, but you can do it.

Leave a Reply

