Out of Balance: Reflections of A Person Not From Gaza pt.4

A dear friend of mine texted me this afternoon telling me that the universe is out of balance, and frankly, I have to agree. I told her something supernatural was probably going on.
The summer in Palestine is as gloomy as the winter I was glad was over.
Summer nights are filled with the sirens of ambulances, gunshots, and teargas canisters falling to the ground. The sirens makes me anxious all the time, and I constantly wonder if I know the person being carried in the ambulance. Then, I push aside my worry as guilt builds inside of me because people in Gaza are living in fear that is unimaginable.
I have not written a blogpost this Ramadan about my trip to Jerusalem because there was none. I couldn’t get a permit – almost no one got a permit – and even if they did, people are worried and anxious to go with everything going on.
I haven’t written a post about how spirtual everything is -if that makes any sense – in the month of Ramadan because to be honest, I didn’t feel it one bit.
I haven’t written a post about how annoying the city of Ramallah could be during the last days before Eid and how I am the “grinch of Eid.”
All I could think of is how, as my friend put it, the universe is out of balance, how the masjid just called on people to go to hospitals and donate blood, how the world is still silent, and how the guy I park our car by did not charge me tonight. The universe is out of balance.

2 thoughts on “Out of Balance: Reflections of A Person Not From Gaza pt.4

Leave a Reply

