On How There’s Never Enough Written

I was talking to a friend of mine this evening, and we began discussing our writings.

“I write around the theme of this country,” I told him.

“I think there’s a lot of things written about this country,” he began. “I think you’d have to find a point that would differentiate your work from anything else that has been written.” 

 The second part may be true. If there are a hundred other writers writing about the same thing, you have to find something that would make you stand out, so the second part of the sentence could be possible. (I don’t have statistics on such issues). 

However, it is the first part that I am not so sure about. I know that many things have been written and sung about the country of Occupia. I just cannot help but think about everything else in this world that have “a lot of things written” about them. Take the civil rights movement in the U.S. or the African Americans captured into slavery before that or the Holocaust as an example. Hasn’t there been enough written about them? (I ask this rhetorically). 

There may be libraries filled with books and books and endless pages about a certain place or a certain country, but is there truly ever enough? 

If you ask me, I would tell you that I do not think so. I think writers (of that book that’s talking about the same things the book before it) are doing so either because they have nothing new to say or they are delibrately repeating the same message over and over again because it seems to them that the message has yet to get through all that brainwash some are succumbed to. 

If there was enough written about anything, we would have to end our conversations. However, if we were to continue them, we may generate new ideas that, perhaps, will lead new words to be written. 

Leave a Reply

