Differences that seem the same.

The past couple of days have been relatively cold to what we are accustomed to in Occupia* around this time of year. Today, the weather seems to give us signal that the summer day heat and night breeze are on their way. I stuck my head out of the window to feel the breeze when some thoughts began to occupy my mind. There are so much differences beyond our windows and across the streets between people, and I already had some in mind.

I don’t know how one of my good friends loves the winter and cold, the rain and cloudy sky more than the summer and the sun. She’s in an absolutely good mood when it’s pouring rain whereas I am just sad and bored as the winter is [to me]. She explains this to me every time I ask, but I just don’t get it. 

Once, a colleague and I were discussing certain dishes and what different cultures are known for. When we stumbled upon a culture that cooks reindeers and cats, I looked at him weirdly.  “You eat chicken and goat meat,” the colleague reminded me. “What’s the difference?” Not much when you think about it, but I just don’t get it.

Another of my close friends has straight hair. She’ll curl it, and the curls wouldn’t hold no matter the amount of hairspray she puts on it. I have curly hair. When I straighten it, it’ll get poofy no matter how much silky products I put on. I wish I had her hair, and she wishes she had mine. I just don’t get it. 

That is just it, though. I don’t get it, and I probably never will. All I know is that sometimes the differences we have in our cultures, tastes, preferences, and even hairstyle are the things that make everyone unique. It makes this world diverse and also chaotic. How? Well, when someone offends something that you cannot change about yourself no matter how much you hate it, what would be the first thing you’d do? 

Just a thought. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

