I Don’t Just Want to Read and Watch. I Want to Do!

After I walked out of a three-hour long microbiology lab, I met with one of my good friends, Reema, so we can get a ride together and go home. She asked how the lab went, and I told her it probably would not have taken that long had there not been a Powerpoint presentation that took a good forty minutes explaining the procedure, and then the T.A. had to SHOW the procedure, and finally, we had to do the procedure. Now, don’t get me wrong. Powerpoint presentations do help, but that is not the point of this little…anecdote. The point of this is to answer the question posed by the Daily Prompt: “You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?”

If there is a new skill I have to learn, I would read about it. Why? Just so I could figure out what it is I am getting myself into. Get into the mindset and all. 

I would also want to watch someone do it if it seems like a difficult task. I think I would feel reassured seeing someone else perform the task. “Not hard after all” kind of feeling. 

None of that is really fun, though. The real and most fun, adrenaline-rush part would be trying this new skill myself. I like trying new things. I like looking at things from different perspectives. It makes life a little less boring. 

It’s like learning to write a stage-play. You have no idea where to begin so you read about it. You may even take a class or workshop about plays, but the real thrill is when you put the dialogue and your characters on paper and maybe even on stage. Reading and hearing someome else talk about it would maybe help you get an idea, but you’ll never know if you can do it unless you try. [Where have I heard this phrase before]? 

Think about. What fun would it be just to read about something and watch someone else do it? Not much. You have to do things on your own and see where you get. You’d be surprised. 

Leave a Reply

