No Restrictions.

“No Restrictions On Words”  is the name I decided to attach to the blog I am starting for a reason I have become familiar with over the past couple of years. When friends suggested I start a blog, I wasn’t sure I had anything to say. My cousin, Doha, actually signed me up on here and told me, “There. Go write.” I asked her to give me a topic, but she told me it doesn’t work that way. And then, I remembered. I am at that age where all you want is to be heard. I was at the age where I did not know how, but now, I am at an age where I am beginning to discover how and why it is important to have your inner voice come out. We can all talk and have decent conversations about anything that comes to mind. We can all express the feelings that are built up in our hearts. Though, nothing means more than the words of the mind and heart combined. That is our inner voice.

Ever since I started writing, I realized that my inner voice was being expressed in ways I never imagined it could. I started with school papers, school activities, and that developed into a love for writing short stories and poems. I lit up everytime I wrote something, even when I thought it was nonsense. Sometimes, I shake my head and ask myself What is this?, but the truth is, this is me. Behind every short story, every poem I write is not only imagination. It is my inner voice coming to life with characters and themes I dreamed up scribbling on three different notebooks. My inner voice is alive!

When I realized that,- that my inner voice is, indeed, alive-, I understood the reason behind  my love for books and written words. These books we read, whatever book it is, it came from an inner voice just like yours and mine. Sometimes, it’s not a great book, but who are we to judge another person’s inner voice? At least they had the courage to voice it somehow.

Another thing I realized when I had this sort of epiphany was that words are….power. Words express things we have a hard time expressing. Words inspire us to do the unthinkable. Words resist for us when we have no weapons. This is why many people in the world are trying to restrict words.

“Word travels fast” the saying goes. With social networks, text messaging, e-mailing, blogging, Wi- Fi blasting in the sky, and other sorts of communication, so it does.  This makes it harder for the world to put restrictions on words. The way I see it is that the same way water fills the ocean, words fill pages. Without water in the oceans, there would be no marine life thus leaving massive holes surrounding continents. Without words on pages, there would be lots of  empty paper surrounded by hard covers. There would be empty computer screens, probably even no computers at all. The world would be quiet. Would it not?

Maybe that is what those who want to put restrictions on words wish for. Imagine. Restriction of words means minus one way to peacefully resist and minus one way to quote inspiration. It means minus another way to document things. It means minus one way to voice your inner voice.

As this is the first blog I am posting, let us, whoever you are, wherever you are, whatever race, gender, age, nationality you are, vow to keep searching for ways to have our inner voice heard. We each have one, but we all have a different way of letting it out. I shared with you how I let mine out, and hopefully, you will share with everyone out there how you allow yours to be heard. Let’s vow that we will keep our inner voice alive. I don’t want restrictions on my words, do you?

One thought on “No Restrictions.

  1. MashAllah 3annik! What a great step have you taken with your writing. Thanks doha for giving her that push forward! Such a Beautiful Blog! Can’t wait for more to come!
    Unfortunately, This whole experience with the occupiers and “Jail”, LITERALLY jail, has been my life for the past 12 years. We ask our Brothers and Sisters around the world for duaa during this Holy month of ours:
    ….اللهُمَّ أَصْلِحْ أَحْوَالَ المُسْلِمِينَ فِي فِلِسطِينَ…اللهُمَّ إِنَّهُمْ مَغْلُوبُونَ فَانْتَصِرْ لَهُمْ…..رَبَّنَا أَفْرِغْ عَلَيْهِمْ صَبْراً وَثَبِّتْ أَقْدَامَهُمْ وَانْصُرْهُمْ عَلَى القَوْمِ الكَافِرِينَ….لا إِلهَ إِلا اللهُ العَظيمُ الحَليم، لا إِلهَ إِلا اللهُ رَبَّ العَرْشِ العَظِيمِ، لا
    إلهَ إِلا اللهُ رَبُّ السَّمَاوَتِ وَرَبُّ الأَرْضِ وَرَبُّ العَرْشِ الكَرِيمِ…..
    اللهم اصلح احوال إخواننا المنكوبين في فلسطين، اللهم آمن خوفهم، واكفهم بما شئت، اللهم بدل خوفهم أمنا، اللهم بدل خوفهم أمنا، يا أمآن الخائفين، يا أمل المستغيثين، ويا مجيب دعوة المضطرين، لا إله إلا أنت، آمين.
    May Allah strengthen us and give us Victory. May this last Friday of Ramadan bring khair and blessings to all our families in Falasteen. Ya Rab al 3Alameen!
    InshAllah one day our inner voices WILL be heard by everyone, in EVERY Place!!!!!!

    Salamu Alaikum.
    Jazaki Allah Khairan for your Blog!

Leave a Reply

